Centre for microbial infection research gets new management

11 January 2024

The new director of the Umeå Centre for Microbial Research, UCMR, is Fredrik Almqvist and the deputy director is Marta Bally. They succeed Yaowen Wu and Teresa Frisan.

In December, the vice chancellor at Umeå University decided on a new operating period and new directors for the Umeå Centre for Microbial Research, UCMR, from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

Fredrik Almqvist, professor at the Department of Chemistry at Umeå University, and Marta Bally, associate professor at the Department of Clinical Microbiology, take on the task of leading UCMR.

UCMR is a Centre of Excellence promoting interdisciplinary cutting-edge molecular and translational microbial infection research at Umeå University. UCMR was founded in 2004 and today the science environment comprises 67 research groups with outstanding track records in the fields of microbial pathogenesis, molecular and cell biology, chemistry, clinical microbiology, structural biology, immunology, epidemiology, microbial ecology, physics, mathematics, and data-driven science.

The vice chancellor has also appointed a steering group for the same period as follows:
Mikael Elofsson, Dean Faculty of Science and Technology, Umeå University (Chair)
Dan Andersson, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Microbiology, Uppsala University
Ulf Nilsson, Center for Analysis and Synthesis, Lund University
Birgitta Henriques-Normark, Microbiology, tumor and cell biology, Karolinska Institutet
Clas Ahlm, Department of Clinical Microbiology, Umeå University
Åsa Strand, Department of Physiological Botany, Umeå University

Read more about UCMR:


Login to be able to read and write comments.