The Council for Doctoral Education (RUF)

The Council for Doctoral Education (RUF) is the preparatory body for the Strategic Board for Research (FoN). The members serve for the July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2025 period.

Umeå University Representatives

Ann Sörlin, Chair
Aleksandra McGrath, Department of Clinical Sciences
Anna Lövgren, Department of Odontology
Isabel Goicolea, Department of Epidemiology and Global Health
Johan Holmberg, Department of Molecular Biology
Jonna Wilén, Department of Diagnostics and Intervention
Karin Nylander, Department of Medical Biosciences
Martin Björklund, Department of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation
Paul Kingham, Department of Medical and Translational Biology
Per Wester, Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Sjoerd Wanrooij, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics
Sofie Degerman, Department of Clinical Microbiology
Åsa Audulv, Department of Nursing

External Board Member


Doctoral Student Representatives

Emelie Backman, Department of Clinical Microbiology
Alexandra Berg, Department of Molecular Biology

Co-opted member
Ludvig Backman, vice director of doctoral studies


Gunilla Mårald

meeting times

Spring term 2024

16 January, at 13-16
13 February, at 13-16
12 March, at 13-16
16 April, at 13-16
21 May, at 13-16

Lena Åminne