The Council for Internationalisation of Education (RIU)

The Council for Internationalisation of Education is a body serving under the supervision of the Strategic Board for Education (UN). The Council’s mandate is to promote Comprehensive Internationalisation within the Faculty, focusing on students; promotion of new exchange agreements and management of matters related to staff and student mobility.

The Council members represent the 8 Programme Councils of the Faculty and the students union. Members for the period July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2025:

Members appointed by the Faculty Board

Estelle Naumburg, associate professor, Chair
Anncristine Fjellman-Wiklund, associate professor, Vice-chair, PRAFI
Fredrik Karlsson, associate professor, PRLP​​​​​​​
Maria Brohlin, associate professor, PRBMA
Maria Nilsson Jatko, lecturer, PRS
Marie Lindkvist, associate professor, PRPH
Mikael Wikström, associate professor, PRBMT
Pamela Hasslöf, assistant professor, PRO
Ulrika Pettersson Kymmer, associate professor, PRL

Umeå Medical and Health Sciences Student Union Representatives

Jenny Giaever
Maja Petersson


Katarina Wikén Albertsson, PRO
​​​​​​​Yngve Östberg, PRBMT
Åsa Gylfe, PRL


Emma Akgöz

Meeting times

Spring 2023

7 February 9:00-12:00
3 April, 10:00-11:30
16 May, 9:,00-10:30
15 June, 10:00-11:30

Location: stated in the meeting notice

Lena Åminne